Governing Body

Composition of the Governing Body


Our Governing Body consists of 12 members.  They are:-

  • 1 Head Teacher
  • 1 LA Governor (nominated by LA and appointed by Governing Body)
  • 1 Staff Elected Governor (elected by staff)
  • 3 Elected Parent Governors (elected by Parents/Carers)
  • 6 Co-opted Governors (appointed by Governing Body)


All Governors service for 4 years before they need to be replaced, re-elected or re-appointed.


Different Types of Governor:

Parent Governors – parents or carers elected by other parents or carers with children at the school, (when there is a vacancy for a parent governor all parents/carers are contacted by letter/website and are asked for nominations, if there are more nominations than vacancies then parents/carers are asked to take part in a vote to elect the parent governors. The Governing Body may appoint parent governors if it is not possible to fill the places by election.

Staff Governor – elected by staff by a vote when a vacancy arises.

LA Governor – suggested by the LA following a skills request by the Governing Body – appointed by the Governing Body.

Co-opted Governor – individuals who are approached by the Governing Body on the basis of a significant contribution which they can make to the school

Associate Members – Governing Body may appoint associate members to sit on committees

Members of the Governing Body


Co-opted Governor – SEN

Mr P Smith Chair of Governors – Parent Governor

Head Teacher Appraisal

 Mrs A Rush Vice Chair of Governors LA Governor

Child Looked After and Child Protection

Head Teacher Appraisal

Mrs S Allen Co-opted Governor
Ms M Stratton Head Teacher and Governor
Mr P Hill Teacher Governor
Health & Safety, British Values
Mr A Cox Co-opted Governor
Mrs L Tuplin Local Authority Govenor
Mr J Kellett Co-opted Governor
Pupil Premium
Mr M Vernon Co-opted Governor
Finance and Head Teacher Appraisal
Mrs D Stocks Co-opted Governor – SEN
Ms A Rush Co-opted Governor – SEN
Vacancies 2 Parent Governors
Mrs P Miles Clerk to Governors
Mr C Marshall Assistant Head – Associate
Mr R Jackson Assistant Head – Associate
Mrs K Wallis Assistant Head – Associate

Please click on document below to see Current Governors, Category, Appointment, End of Office information

Governor Details – January 2018 – File Copyv.1

Register of Interests

The Governing Body must ensure that Governors are not involved in activities that might conflict with their role within the school.  As such a register of interest must be made available on the school website.

This document is updated fully each year and reviewed throughout the year.  It is the Governors responsibility to make the school aware of any changes during the year.

Please click on the document below to view the Register of Interests

Register of Governors Interest V1 Dec 2017

Please click on the document below to view the Governors Links and Responsibilities

Governors at St Clare’s reside on a range of committees:

Full Governors

Please click on the document below to see the dates for Governors meetings arranged for 2017-2018

Please click on document below to see the attendance of Governing Body member

Attendance-Governors-2016-17-11 (1)

If you would like to contact the governors please email

If you are interested in becoming a governor please contact the Clerk to the Governors on

Attached Statements



St Clare’s Code of Conduct 2017-18